John Corcoran AM


John Corcoran AM is Principal at the law practice of Russell Kennedy and was Chair of that firm for 10 years until 30 June 2017. He is a member of the board of Mercy Health.

He has been a board member of the Legal Services Board as well as the International Bar Association. He is also a past President of the Law Institute of Victoria and was President of the Law Council of Australia in 2009.

His experience as a commercial lawyer is in the areas of commercial property, retirement and aged care, as well as sale and purchase of business, and securities

Patricia Kelly

Committee Member

Tricia has extensive experience in the financial services industry. She worked for Suncorp/AAMI where her roles included Executive General Manager Strategy & Business Development Personal Insurance and General Manager AAMI New South Wales. Prior to that she was a Director and Executive General Manager Life & Superannuation of Norwich Union Life Australia.

Tricia is a past president and honorary life member of the Insurance Institute of Victoria and a former Director of the Australian Insurance Institute. She is currently a non-executive Director of ANSVAR Ltd and of RACV Limited and subsidiary companies.

Catriona Lowe

Committee Member

Catriona is a lawyer with extensive experience in the consumer sector including directorships at the Australian Financial Complaints Authority, the Financial Adviser Standards and Ethics Authority and the Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman. Catriona is also Co-Chair of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission Consumer Consultative Committee. Catriona is a former Chair of the Consumers’ Federation of Australia and former Co-CEO of the Consumer Action Law Centre.

Catriona’s skills and expertise include policy analysis and corporate governance, strategic legal practice management and consumer and competition law as well as dispute resolution and regulation.

John Cain

Committee Member

John has extensive legal experience in both the public and private sectors. He was the Managing Partner at Herbert Geer from 2011 to 2014 and the consultant overseeing the merger of that firm with Thomson Lawyers to create Thomson Geer. During John’s five years as Victorian Government Solicitor starting in 2006, he oversaw the restructuring of that office as well as the creation of a whole of government legal services panel. While in that position John also represented the Victorian Government and its departments and agencies at the 2009 Bushfire Royal Commission. Prior to these roles John was the CEO at the Law Institute of Victoria (2002-2006) and Managing Partner at Maurice Blackburn from 1991 to 2002.

John is the chair of the Centre for Innovative Justice, RMIT University, an advisory board member in the School of Business and Law, Victoria University and an advisory board member of the Sir Zelman Cowen Centre.

Adrian Finanzio SC

Committee Member

Adrian signed the Victorian Bar Roll in 1998, was appointed Silk in 2012 and is a leading Victorian barrister practising in the areas of planning and environment, local government, and major projects. He brings to LPLC a broad range of skills arising from the various committees on which he serves, including Barristers Chambers Limited, the Bar Readers Course Committee (as Vice Chair) and the Victorian Planning and Environment Law Association (as Vice President) and as a past member of the Victorian Bar Council.

Helen Thornton

BEc, CA, GAICD - Committee Member

Helen, a chartered accountant for over 30 years, has extensive experience in governance, audit and risk management. She held senior leadership roles at Deloittes, KPMG and BHP Ltd as well as BlueScope Steel Ltd where she was responsible for the global risk management and insurance program. Helen has been a non-executive director for over 18 years and is an experienced Chair of Audit and Risk Committees. She is currently on the boards of ISPT Pty Ltd, Treasury Corporation of Victoria, Yarra Valley Water, Ansvar Insurance, Austin Health and is retiring from Zoos Victoria 30 June 2018.

Danny Barlow

Committee Member

Danny has practiced as a solicitor in Victoria since being admitted to practice in 1996. He is currently a director of Dawes & Vary Riordan, a large regional law firm with multiple offices in various regional towns including Shepparton, Kyabram, Echuca, Cobram and Tatura.

Danny practices primarily in agribusiness, commercial litigation and employment law. In addition to his legal practice, Danny is a former executive member of the Law Institute of Victoria, including serving as President in 2009. He has also served as a director of the Law Council of Australia. He remains a member of the Ethics Committee of the Law Institute of Victoria.